Verse By Verse Through Revelation (6:6-10)

ch6_pat_12_under altar_small

6 Then I heard something like a voice among the four living creatures say, “A quart of wheat for a denarius, and three quarts of barley for a denarius—but do not harm the olive oil and the wine.”

The Seraphim declared that in the time of the third seal there will be a great famine because the destruction that takes place on the earth (wars, plagues, and drought) will affect food growth and production (Matthew 24:7).

A denarius was a silver coin and it was a day’s wage (Matthew 20:1-2).

Food will be very expensive in the end times for the lack of it and those who will suffer the worst will be the poor and middle class.


7 When He opened the fourth seal, I heard the voice of the fourth living creature say, “Come!”

The Lord opens the fourth seal and the Seraphim tells John to come and see the next judgment that takes place.


8 And I looked, and there was a pale green horse. The horseman on it was named Death, and Hades was following after him. Authority was given to them over a fourth of the earth, to kill by the sword, by famine, by plague, and by the wild animals of the earth.

The phrase “a pale green horse” resembles the color that a dead body gets after a person has been dead for 24 hours.

A fourth of the earth’s population (25%) will experience death (1.8 billion people will perish), which includes animals as well. To reach such high casualties would most likely include a nuclear exchange (Zechariah 14:12in a very big war (Ezekiel 38-39) by multiple countries. Plus, the high prices of food that almost no one can afford will cause people to die of starvation along with plagues that we will get into the further we get into the chapter that talks about the remaining seals.


9 When He opened the fifth seal, I saw under the altar the people slaughtered because of God’s word and the testimony they had.

The fifth seal reveals the saints who died in the great tribulation (Revelation 7:9-14) by the hands of the Antichrist and the false prophet for refusing to worship him and the image of the Antichrist. Their heads were cut off (Revelation 20:4) who did not denounce their testimony in Jesus Christ or the Word of God but died because they were Christians who loved the Lord more than their lives.


10 They cried out with a loud voice: “Lord, the One who is holy and true, how long until You judge and avenge our blood from those who live on the earth?”

The believers were in the presence of the Lord, which after the death of a believer he/she will immediately go to be with Jesus according to 2 Corinthians 5:8 which says, “8 and we are confident and satisfied to be out of the body and at home with the Lord.”

The believers cried out to Jesus for justice because they were put to death but were innocent, they did not commit any crime deserving death. They were asking the Lord God when Lord will you avenge us?


The “verse by verse through Revelation” series was made into a book. If you are interested in having a hardcopy or in an ebook format click: Bookstore

20 thoughts on “Verse By Verse Through Revelation (6:6-10)

  1. When I was still a Catholic, the funny thing was my heart would beat so fast whenever I thought of end times and the book of Revelation was something that I dreaded to even think of reading. What a contrast when I gave my life to the Lord. What I used to fear suddenly became the hope of all things becoming new. To dwell on the inevitable cataclysmic events is still scary (more really for the kids) but my heart no longer beats the way it did and my soul knows with certaintly its destination and for this reason, fear of what’s to come no longer holds me captive.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Hebrews 2:14-15

    14 Now since the children have flesh and blood in common, Jesus also shared in these, so that through His death He might destroy the one holding the power of death—that is, the Devil— 15 and free those who were held in slavery all their lives by the fear of death.

    Those who fear death are still held by Satan but you have been freed because you have put your trust in Jesus so you no longer fear death but rejoice in the coming of the Lord.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Ahhh… thanks again for the references in Zechariah and Ezekiel–now I know that they refer to the same event as in Rev.20.

    I think I’m getting it now. So… the succeeding events discussed in Revelation would need to be “interspersed” with the breaking of the seals (and probably other events, e.g., trumpets, bowls, etc.). Thanks, Spaniardviii, this really helps my understanding.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Re “not harming the olive oil and the wine”–a friend has told me this has reference to Christians, but she was not able to discuss completely as she has also just heard it recently from a preacher and it’s a new concept for both of us. Would you know anything about this? ‘Would appreciate if you could explain–only if you have the time, please! Many thanks. ‘Appreciate very much your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. In Zechariah it seems to point to a nuclear explosion because of it’s language which says, their flesh will rot while they stand on their feet, their eyes will rot in their sockets, and their tongues will rot in their mouths.

    Only in a nuclear bomb can make that occur.

    Ezekiel is a war that all the nations that hate Israel will be united to destroy God’s City.

    Revelation 20 is when Jesus reigns for a 1000 years after defeating the armies of the Antichrist in Revelation 19 and Jesus sends an angel to lock up Satan for a 1000 years.

    Thanks for reading the post and for your comment.

    Like

  6. I was thinking it might be the effect of chips implanted on the forehead/right hand.

    Re Ezekiel–I was thinking of Rev.20:7-10 (Gog & Magog gathering for battle after the thousand years). But I will wait for your posts when you get to Rev.20. Thanks for always accommodating my questions/comments. I learn a lot from your posts. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ezekiel is about Gog and Magog that is correct but the one in Revelation 20, some of the details are different from that of Ezekiel. I’m sure going to tackle it when I get there but before that, there’s plenty of hard verses I got to get through.

    Thanks, I do pray that my posts help people come closer to Jesus and to encourage them to seek His face more. God bless.

    Like

  8. God bless you too, Spaniardviii. Thanks for leading us through this study of Revelations. (I will be signing off now, but ‘will be catching up on your posts/replies–if there’s any–next time I sign in. God bless.)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Spaniardviii, the artwork for your verse by verse study seems to be the work of one artist. Is the artist someone I’m acquainted with?
    :0)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I have no idea who it was who painted it. I give credit to those who did the work if you hover over “about” then click on “credit” there’s where I give credit.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. It’s a lot of work which this is my first time ever doing a commentary on any given Book in the Bible verse by verse. I’m learning a lot. Thanks for your comment Maria.

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts?